Bandwagons are Spectacular

I really need to get this blog back on track to where it’s supposed to be.  So here, friends and neighbors, is a post about my flabbiness:

I’ve been feeling really disheartened lately and been doing my best to avoid looking in mirrors and definitely avoided even going near my scale.  In fact, for a while there, I had hidden it away in a bathroom cabinet so I wouldn’t have to see it sitting there, glaringly accusing me of being a fat slacker.

Granted, I’m still below my original weight of when I started this endeavor, so it’s not all a total loss, but I’m still no where near where I would like to be.  I’ve been dealing with this for a few weeks now, and have finally decided to actually do something about it.

I’ve stuck to my plan of whenever-it-was-I-posted-about-it of giving up cokes.  I can count on one hand the times I’ve had a soft drink since then, and those times, I don’t really fell bad about.  To be honest, since not drinking them, the occasional one I do have tastes ridiculously thick and sweet and not really all that enjoyable.

Along the same line of giving stuff up, I’ve given up red meat.  I didn’t even realize I was doing this initially, until one day, while trying to plan dinner, I realized I couldn’t remember the last time I had red meat.  From there, I made it a conscious choice.  I’m having to eat more iron-rich vegetables since then in order to keep my iron levels somewhat normal, but other than that, it’s been a breeze.  I haven’t felt this good about my eating choices since my stint as a vegetarian in 2005.

So now that I have my eating habits under control, I need to work on the exercise portion.  I’m continuing my early morning yoga, but that’s mostly stretching and not a whole lot else.  I suppose I should add in some crunches or jumping jacks or something.

I’ll get right on that.

Today’s weigh-in: 146.2

Leave a Reply

