Sibling Woes

Apparently my hair will hold two pounds of water.  Who knew?

I discovered that little tidbit this morning.  Out of pure curiosity, I weighed myself before and after taking a shower.  The difference was exactly two pounds.   I desperately need a haircut, is what this experience is telling me.

In other news, my sister is coming to town today with her husband and three children.

Let me put this out there, before I go on my age-old rant about my sister’s visits: I love my sister.  I do.

What I do not love is how I’m compared to her.  My sister and I are ridiculously different in most aspects.  She homeschools her three children and is a health nut to the point where I sometimes question her sanity.  She has a masters in psychology, but works part time as a receptionist at a health spa type place.   My sister is tiny and brilliant and everything I’m constantly reminded I am not.

So this weekend will be tough for me.  My tiny sibling who makes me feel clumsy and gigantic will be here and our mother will spend the entire time fawning over how great she is and how wonderful her life is going while asking me why I can’t shape up.  This can go one of two ways: it’ll either be a great motivator and I’ll actually do something about it or it’ll depress me and I’ll drink away my inferiorities.

At least I know I have better fashion sense than her.

One response to this post.

  1. Glad I don’t have a sister to be compared against. Good luck. Plus remember you have awesome friends, who love you as you are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

